Being a student again, in America

I’ve discovered internet radio!

OK so not so much of a discovery, and I kind of always knew it was there, it’s just I’d never really thought of using it before.

I absolutely love music. It’s a rare moment when I don’t have something playing out of somewhere. The thing is, I seem to get bored of what I’m listening to quite quickly, no sooner have I found a new band I love, I want to find another one. It’s a curse I’ve had since I was a teenager, when everyday on the walk home from school I’d have to resist buying a new CD, which I managed about 3 days out of 5. My Mum used to have a go at me over how much money I spent on music and my unarguable defense was that at least I wasn’t spending it on smoking! No comeback on that one. So, anyway, since I’ve first been listening to music, I’m always looking out for something new or different to try.

Radio stations are not really where I would normally turn to find new music, but one evening last week, sat on my couch, I started browsing on Apple TV all the radio stations I could connect with. Ambient, Blues, Classical………..College Radio. Going to university in the UK, college radio is not something that really hit me, or maybe it just didn’t hit the University of Salford! But then I remembered, how huge college radio in the US is. I was recalling all those R.E.M interviews where Michael Stipe would talk about how his band was launched on college radio out of Athens, which meant absolutely nothing to me in 1991. But now I’m thinking this might be worth a listen…..

Firstly, it’s not easy to start, there are 227 college radio stations to chose from on Apple TV. Not a problem, one quick search of “the best college radio stations” and I had it narrowed down to 20. And picking completely at random I’m now sat on my couch listening to Radio DePaul based out of Chicago. Forgive me for saying, I think the station name could do with some work, but so far loving the music they’re playing on their “Chill Out” show, which considering it’s early morning in Dubai must be Thursday night in Illinois.

Couple of crowd favourites so far: “Putting the Dog to Sleep” by The Antlers and “Josh Mcbride” by The Head and The Heart. I have no idea if this is new in 2015, but I’ve never heard it before, so it’s new to me. Shazam is at the ready to tell me more.

Leave a Reply

