Bookworm

So for my first 30 day challenge I started with a real easy one:

CHALLENGE 1: READING EVERY DAY

I know this is pretty easy and I know that a lot of people will do this anyway. However, as much as I love reading, it’s one of those things that I never seem to have the time to do, or just never get round to. So, as I always start the year saying to myself I should read more, I thought doing this challenge would be a good way to start. Plus, I had a couple of other considerations. Firstly I was on holiday in the UK, so I would have more time to do something like reading and also, as I’d be travelling back to Dubai over the course of the month, I needed a challenge that could travel to the Middle East – build a snowman everyday was not an option.

I kind of knew I would enjoy forcing myself to read. I read 2.5 books in total over the 30 days, which for a start, is about what I would normally read in a year so already this challenge has boosted my output! I started out with Gone Girl, which I’d wanted to read for some time. It’s an excellently put together story, but having now read the book and seen the film, I find the ending a bit stupid. Rating 8/10!

After reading a few Jodi Picoult books I still can’t really decide if I like her or not, but I keep reading them so perhaps I do. I know, Gone Girl followed by House Rules, a book about a kid with Aspergers, doesn’t seem the most likely of transitions, but this book has sat on my shelf for years and never yet been read. It also has a horrendous carbon footprint as it has been shipped from Australia to Dubai, so it was about time it was read. A pretty standard book from JP, raising the usual human dilemmas, but if you like her other books you’ll like this one as much I guess.. Rating 7/10!

And finally, I’ve started but not finished, 11.22.63. Again, been on the wishlist for some time and got a copy for Christmas (thanks Mum and Dad!) – can’t give much of a rating so yet, but so far so good. It’s a Stephen King book so, have some high hopes!

I’ve definitely enjoyed reading more and forcing myself to read every day has certainly been a pleasure not a chore. So much so that so far I’ve kept the reading going beyond the 30 days, even if it’s just a few pages each night before the light goes out.

Leave a Reply

